Life and Family / News and Information

BE AWARE,STAND UP AGAINST BULLYING!

Legal definition

Cyberbullying is defined in legal glossaries as

  • actions that use information and communication technologies to support deliberate, repeated, and hostile behavior by an individual or group, that is intended to harm another or others.
  • use of communication technologies for the intention of harming another person
  • use of internet service and mobile technologies such as web pages and discussion groups as well as instant messaging or SMS text messaging with the intention of harming another person.

Examples of what constitutes cyberbullying include communications that seek to intimidate, control, manipulate, put down, falsely discredit, or humiliate the recipient. The actions are deliberate, repeated, and hostile behavior intended to harm another. Cyberbullying has been defined by The National Crime Prevention Council: “When the Internet, cell phones or other devices are used to send or post text or images intended to hurt or embarrass another person.”

A cyber bully may be a person whom the target knows or an online stranger. A cyberbully may be anonymous and may solicit involvement of other people online who do not even know the target. This is known as a ‘digital pile-on.

~ Wikipedia

Tatahimik na lang sana ako at di na kikibo pero babalewalain ko na lang ba kung sarili kong anak ang nabububully. Lagi kong pangaral sa kanya bago pumasok sa school na maging friendly at wag makikipag away maliban na lang kung sila ang nag umpisa saka mo patulan, pero sadyang mabait na bata ang anak ko pero minsan masungit din. Ayaw nya raw ng may kaaway kahit ginaganon na sya tikom ang bibig nya at di umiimik. Sa dati nyang school matinding pambubully ang naranasan nya nagtataka ako pag uwi nya yun baon sa lunch walang bawas kaya napagsasabihan ko, hanggang sa medyo na apektuhan na ang pag aaral nya yun ibang grades bumababa, there was a time na may pinabasa syang sulat sa akin bitch ang tinatawag sa kanya ako naman binalewala ko sa pag aakalang maayos or makakaya nyang ihandle,pero mali ako, hanggang sa kinausap ko na ng masinsinan dun ko nalaman na 2 weeks na pala syang binubully ng dalawa nyang classmate na babae. Kaya di nauubos ang baon dahil natatapon sa table nya sinasadya raw na sanggiin ang upuan nya, pag may exercises na ginagawa ginugulo sya, pinakamaskit sa lahat ang tawagin syang BITCH,STUPID. Siguro naman kahit sinong magulang magagalit pag may ganyan ng nangyayari sa anak mo,Di mo pwedeng palampasin o pabayaan na lang kung ang mababasa o makikita sa mga drawing nya patayan, o kaya naman i hate myself. Dahil dun kinunsulta ko na si hubby kung anong gagawin, sabi ko gusto ko ng ilipat ng school si joy, sagot naman nya Anong kasiguruhan mo na sa lilipatan nyang school wala ng mambubully sa kanya? may punto nga naman sya kahit siguro saan lugar may ganyan. Nagdesisyon kami nakausapin ang guidance at nagharap-harap kaming lahat sapilitan kong pinigil ang galit ko dahil sa nakikita ko sa mga oras na yun 2 batang babae na di hamak na malaki at mas matanda kay joy, anong laban ng anak ko sa kanila? Ang resulta ng Face to Face sa guidance warning lang at oobserbahan daw muna nila, napaisip ako yun lang ang parusa eh muntik ng mahulog sa hagdanan ang anak ko dahil tinulak sya at buti na lang alerto sya at nakakapit. Binasa ko ang handbook ng school sa pagkakaintindi ko na kapag life threatening ang kaso tinatanggal in short kick out. Ang ending  nanatili ang dalawang maldita sa school inilipat na lang ng section si joy.

Dahil lumipat kami for the last time ng bahay panibagong school silang magkapatid, panatag na sana ang loob ko sa nilipatan nilang school sabi kasi ng asawa ng pinsan ko di daw nila tinotolerate ang bullying sa school, kala ko ok na si joy sa bago niyang school excited nga sya pumasok at makipagkaibigan, going smooth ang lahat pero panandalian lang pala for the second time cyberbullying naman sa Facebook nya ang nahuli ko. Usapan na namin mag ina papalitan ko ng pasword ang facebook nya at magmamanage  ugali kong icheck lahat ng laman ng account nya. Nagkataon na nagcomment sya sa isang picture ng section nya sa school ayoko ng iexplain tignan na lang nyo ang screenshot ng picture,ang lupet pag check ko kanina sa post na yan biglang naglahong parang magic yun 2 comment. Eh ang kaso bago pa mabura nascreenshot ko na para may ebidensya ako. Sa panahon ngayon iba na ang mga kabataan napakarami ng nabalita, mga senador na nakikialam na dahil sa mga ganitong pangyayari  marami na din ang nagpapakamatay. May mga katanungan lang ako nakakadagdag ba ng pagkalalake o pagkababe yan ginagawa mo? tumatalino ka ba? o baka naman nakakadagdag ng kagwapuhan o kagandahan? Ganyan ka ba pinalaki ng magulang mo ang pumatol sa mas bata, and FYI kalalaki mong tao papatulan mo ang babae tanong lang BAKLA KA BA? Bilang isang ina masakit ang sabihan ng ganyan ang masaklap sa isang social media pa na maraming nakakabasa. Mabait ako sa mga taong mabait din sa mga anak ko, mahal ko ang mga taong mahal din sila. Hayop nga  tumatapang kapag alam nilang may bantang panganib na umaaligid sa mga supling nila, tao pa kaya? di ko pinost ito para gumanti o kahit ano man kung di para maging aware ang iba sa mga nangyayari sa labas o loob man ng school ng kanilang mga anak baka sa susunod  anak mo na pala ang nabully.

from her Facebook Account.


Sa daming stories, videos ng bullying na nabasa at napanood ko ang mga ganitong pangyayari nauuwi sa pagpapakamatay iintayin ko pa bang mangyari ito sa sarili kong anak?

23 thoughts on “BE AWARE,STAND UP AGAINST BULLYING!

  1. I hate bullies. I have a story about that… I was 7 years old, a new immigrant, and a girl at school bullied me. i fought back and hit her with my school bag on the school bus, then told my Mom, Mom wrote a letter to the principal and teacher, the bully got suspended, and I STARTED BULLYING HER BECAUSE SHE WAS ACTUALLY A FAT-ASSED ORANGUTAN. I became popular, and my close friends and I would gag everytime we saw her. Lesson, if you’re a bully, be sure you’re perfect, and the one you bully is not the child of Bill Gates.

    Sorry…..

    • To be honest, it was bad of me to bully her too, but it was intentional to teach her a lesson. I looked weak, small, and could barely speak English, and was nothing compared to her 200 pound body, but I had so much in my arsenal to fight her back. You know, these people…. if you don’t fight back, they become even more empowered to bully. of course I was transferred to a school for the gifted… then in middle school, i saw her again, and she looked scared to see me. She still looked like a 200 pound orangutan . Poor girl.

    • Bullies really take advantage on others who can’t or won’t fight back. Somehow it is good that you did it. Actually it is also our advice to our daughter. Ignore things that are tolerable and fight back if it isn’t. It is ok as long as she didn’t start it.

  2. LOL Gorgeous? No, not really. Of course my mother helped on the revenge plan On my birthday, I gave out invitations. The invitations were attached to a bagful of goodies. I gave them out in the classroom, to all, except her. It was a bday party held at McDonald’s , then to a nearby entertainment centre. Everybody came and had a good time. Everyone knew she was the only one not invited. She became a pariah, and she deserved it. She actually bullied everybody in class… it was physical bullying. Do you know she would sit behind me on the school bus and pound on my head ? And elbowed me out of a food line? yes, such things happened. That’s why we loved the movie Carrie.

  3. ha ! I highly doubt McDonald’s would take her in. For some reason, McDonald’s employ people who are at least pleasing to the eyes of customers. With so many wanting a part time job, I’m sure they will not get someone who looks like a 500 pound gorilla. I’m getting mean and bitchy, but your post opened an old wound, especially that girl on the video who committed suicide. I really don’t know why people bully. What are they thinking when they do that? I experienced how it was not wanting to go to school. I was already crying telling her to stop hitting my head, but she wouldn’t stop. Imagine something like that happening to your kid when you are not around to protect her or him, and you don’t even know it’s happening to your kid.

    • That is why we always talk to our kids and keep a close relationship with them. Keeping a close relation would open the doors for good communication and will really help addressing problems like these.

      Giving the benefit of the doubt to these bullies, somehow I believe they are also victims of their own family or society reasons that they do this. They may have been beaten up or in a dysfunctional families that is why they express their rage against someone else.Though we as parents really should protect the kids from this.

      PS: Sorry about the memories though this is my wife’s post.

  4. It is good to know that we have an Anti-bullying law signed by PNoy. My kids were also bullied when they transferred school after the death of my husband. They do not want to go to school and they blamed me for the transfer, they have no friends and their classmates were hostile. I told them to befriend them but do not let themselves be bullied even if they have to physically fight, I am willing to let them get discharged from school than for them to be hurt. Before the school year ended they have friends but bullies are still there. I know they are with problems, the bullies and they also need help.

    I would reblog this. Thanks for posting.

    • we play a huge role as parents on this. we need to have a close relationship with our kids so they will treat us as friends and seek help to us if needed. It helps that our kids won’t feel that they are not alone on this.

  5. Reblogged this on sjanima and commented:
    I am hoping that people would be kinder and not violate the rights of other person. Bullying is so bad and hard to address, we need to start from home so that school and communities would be safe.

  6. I remember when I was in 1st or 2nd grade, I was a really small kid and there was this boy na two or three times ang laki niya sakin. He enjoys annoying and bullying the heck out me dahil mas malaki siya sakin. Minsan, pareho kaming malapit sa guard area waiting for sundo.. pinagtripan nanaman ako. Even our school guard tolerates it. “Larong bata” daw. Whatever. Another day passed, aba, ang trip naman e duro-duruin ang mukha ko sa classroom habang pinagtatawanan niya ako. Ayun, kinagat ko daliri niya. Iyak siya at sinumbong ako sa nanay niya. Worth it.

  7. I have own share of stories din. Na-bully din once upon a time… The few times I read articles about bullying, never fail to mention ang reason why some kids turn out as bullies. At the end of the day, sa bahay daw talaga nagsisimula ang lahat. Hindi nila alam na masama na sila and sometimes, victims sila in their own homes.

    More than the law, sana all parents will share your principle. Sana kasi mawala na yung “anak wag ka magpapalamang” principle.

Leave a Reply

